1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside service and temporary appointments. It also gave the Commission other responsibilities in the field of personnel administration including responsibility for promotion, for classification of positions and for recommending rates of pay.

The Civil Service Act of 1961, which came into force on Apr. 1, 1962, has three main features. First, it preserves the independence of the Civil Service Commission and carries forward and strengthens all the fundamental principles of the merit system. Secondly, it clarifies the role of the Civil Service Commission in those other areas of personnel administration with which it is concerned but which do not bear directly upon the merit system. Thirdly, it confers on staff associations the right to be consulted on matters that have to do with remuneration and conditions of employment.

The Civil Service Commission is responsible only to Parliament and not to the executive government and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. It consists of three members, one of whom is chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of ten years and has the rank and standing of a Deputy Minister. The Commission has a staff of more than 700 persons located in its headquarters at Ottawa and in its field offices at St. John's, Nfld., Halifax, N.S., Moneton and Saint John, N.B., Quebec and Montreal, Que., Ottawa, Toronto and London, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina and Saskatoon, Sask., Edmonton and Calgary, Alta., and Vancouver and Victoria, B.C.

**Department of Defence Production.**—The Department of Defence Production was established in April 1951 by the Defence Production Act (SC 1951, c. 4—now the Defence Production Act, RSC 1952, c. 62, as amended by SC 1955, c. 52). Its antecedents were the Department of Munitions and Supply established in 1940 for the procurement of military supplies and its successor, in December of 1945, the Department of Reconstruction and Supply. In February 1947, the Department functions of the Department of Reconstruction and Supply were transferred to the Department of Trade and Commerce and carried out through the Canadian Commercial Corporation. The Defence Production Act provides the Minister with exclusive authority to buy or otherwise acquire defence supplies required by the Department of National Defence. The Act also provides for the mobilization, conservation and co-ordination of Canadian economic and industrial facilities; for incorporation of companies; for stock-piling essential materials; and for the provision of capital assistance.

As the Department has responsibility for encouraging the development and production of defence equipment in Canada, it is also concerned with establishing arrangements with the United States and other NATO and allied countries for bilateral and multilateral collaboration in the fields of defence research, development and production. At the same time it endeavours to increase participation of Canadian industry in the defence production requirements of these countries.

As a result of a Cabinet decision, the Department has been designated as the central purchasing agency for all civil departments and agencies, other than the commercially oriented Crown corporations.

The main operating branches of the Department are: Aircraft, Chemicals, Apparel and Textiles, Electrical and Electronics, Food Products, Machinery, Materials, Mechanical Transport, Shipbuilding and Heavy Equipment, and Wood Products. The Regional Purchasing Branch has 14 regional offices located throughout Canada for local or urgent procurement. Procurement offices are also located at London, England, Washington, U.S.A., Paris, France, and Koblentz, Germany. In addition, the Department contains the International Programs Branch which directs the Departmental defence export activities, including the Canada-U.S. Defence Development and Production Sharing Program and Canadian participation in the NATO Armaments Committee.

The following staff and support branches service both the Departments of Defence Production and Industry—Comptroller's, Financial Adviser's, General Services, Legal, Management Control, Management Services and Personnel. The Emergency Supply Planning Branch is responsible for planning the arrangements necessary to permit a War Supplies Agency to be brought into immediate existence in the event of a nuclear war. Branches that have been formed to carry out the responsibilities of the new integrated Supply Service are: Cataloguing, Quality Assurance, Specifications and Standards, Traffic Management, Warehousing and Distribution and Regional Purchasing. The Canadian Government Printing Bureau is responsible to the Department of Defence Production.

Crown corporations and agencies reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Industry in his capacity as Minister of the Department of Defence Production are: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Ganadian Commercial Corporation, Canadian Government Specifications Board, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Emergency Measures Organization, and Polymer Corporation Limited.

**Dominion Bureau of Statistics.**—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (SC 1918, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (RSC 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (RSC 1952, c. 257); it was amended by SC 1952-53, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.